Tuesday, February 07, 2012

36 Senate Democrats vote for anti-union FAA re-authorization bill

The Senate voted 75-20 on Monday in favor of an FAA re-authorization bill that's devastating. As David Dayen explains:
The bill avoids the main labor tweak that House Republicans wanted, which would have counted any worker not voting in a union election as a No vote. But it does raise the bar for the number of workers needed to sign cards stating they want to join a union from 35% to 50% of the workforce. Worse, it makes those cards public to the employer, and it weakens the oversight of the lead transit union regulator, the Labor Mediation Board.
The roll call of the final vote is here. The Yes votes were 38 Republicans, 36 Democrats plus Lieberman. The no votes were 5 Republicans (presumably for other reasons), 14 Democrats and Bernie. The No's:
Akaka (D-HI), Blumenthal (D-CT), Brown (D-OH), Cardin (D-MD), Casey (D-PA), Franken (D-MN), Gillibrand (D-NY), Harkin (D-IA), Klobuchar (D-MN), Leahy (D-VT), McCaskill (D-MO), Merkley (D-OR), Mikulski (D-MD), Sanders (I-VT), Stabenow (D-MI), Crapo (R-ID) DeMint (R-SC) Lee (R-UT) Paul (R-KY) Risch (R-ID).
Nice to see Klobuchar and McCaskill in that list.

So in the Democrats who voted Yes, we have folks like Cantwell, Durbin, Feinstein, Kerry, Lautenberg, Menendez, Murray, Reed, Schumer, Whitehouse...

Not to mention that the President is signing this thing.

With friends like these...


Post a Comment

<< Home